Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey there. I'm new to R2R but not new to the hobby. After a few years of hiatus I re-entered the hobby recently with a little 20g long build that I'm keeping pretty simple. I wanted to take a chance to share my fixture I built just in case people are looking for a reasonable cost fixture for a smaller tank to emulate.

First things first, I saved some money by buying a lot of stuff on clearance. That may not be an option for you depending on what is available. But that's part of the advice, buy things on sale or clearance where you can, even if you have to change the plan around to fit it. I ended up changing a few things around to fit the sales I found.

I chose to do a T5/LED hybrid for a few reasons. First I'm just not a fan of pure LED lit tanks, something about it doesn't look right to me. Sometimes the shimmer can be way too intense and make me nauseous. If you love them, more power to you. Second because this is a 30" long tank it's difficult for some of the smaller LED pendant style lights (like a Kessil) to really give me great corner to corner spread, while a 24" T5 can throw a ton of light off the edges to cover the difference. Finally, price. No explanation needed.

For this unit I am running a Agrobrite Designer 4x24w T5 HO unit I got on Amazon for $90 with free shipping and some plant bulbs included. I liked this over the other barebones horticultural fixtures just because it isn't the industrial white and instead has a nice bronze powdercoating. It only has one power cord and one switch so no dawn/dusk here. I use basic light timers for everything.

FsM5KvP.jpg