Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello i am new to the saltwater community and was wondering can you guys help me out. I have a 150 gallon drilled tank, what size return pump is food for it , what size sump is good i was recommended 40gl can i have a sump and fx6 running( i know canister filters are looked down on) I have skimmer do i need those reactors as well. Other then protein skimmwe what else is good to put in sump

Avast

RocketEngineer

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A 40g sump is a fairly good size for that size display. I’ve use similar before just fine. For the return, there are plenty of options but my personal choice would be a Sicce AC pump. They have been around for a long time with a proven track record. A Sicce 4.0 would give you the recommended 3x-5x turn over. I use a pair of 3.0s on my system for redundancy.

The reactors can be added later. To me, the skimmer is all that’s needed at the beginning anyways. Aside from that, I have my heaters in the sump as well as my ATO (highly recommended). As the system matures other equipment can be added but keep in mind not all of it is needed. Research is key.

Hope that helps.

Phil Steel

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to the group.

I can't comment on the sizes. But for the sump, I would start off with a skimmer, heater, bio media, and ATO. Later on you could add in a doser, reactor and perhaps chaeto with light?

Nutramar Foods

flyfisher2

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Agree with previous advice. Sicce is a reliable pump and won‘t break the bank.
Hold off on unnecessary purchases until the the time comes when you actually need the reactors and such.