Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to salt water and mixing my first batch and I'm using Aquaforest salt. It states that the temperature should be around 75, mix vigorously for 15 minutes until clear. I have 16 liters of RODI water, the water is at 75.3 and I have a powerhead at the bottom of my pail. It's not 100% clear yet, but after 15 minutes I tested with my calibrated refractomneterand the reading was at 1.035. I cleaned and recalibrate the refractometer and got the same results.

If the salt isn't fully mixed will the salinty reading be too low because of not being dissolved or too high because of salt in the water.

I'm planning and leaving it with the heater and powerhead over night before testing again. Am I on the right track or should I got rid of the water and start again?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks

Nutramar Foods

CasperOe

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to salt water and mixing my first batch and I'm using Aquaforest salt. It states that the temperature should be around 75, mix vigorously for 15 minutes until clear. I have 16 liters of RODI water, the water is at 75.3 and I have a powerhead at the bottom of my pail. It's not 100% clear yet, but after 15 minutes I tested with my calibrated refractomneterand the reading was at 1.035. I cleaned and recalibrate the refractometer and got the same results.

If the salt isn't fully mixed will the salinty reading be too low because of not being dissolved or too high because of salt in the water.

I'm planning and leaving it with the heater and powerhead over night before testing again. Am I on the right track or should I got rid of the water and start again?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks