Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I know there is quite a bit of debate over quarentining inverts as well as corals. Wondering what everyone's opinions are on this subject. My 32 biocube and I have been battling one another for a few months now. Hair algea just won't go away. I have a pretty massive cuc in my 5 gallon QT tank. There are too many snails and hermit crabs in there. I do feed them daily to keep them going, but I really need them in my DT. They've been in there for 24 days of a 45 day quarantine as per humble fish. What really are the odds of infecting my DT with a parasite from an invert after no QT? After my 24 days so far? After 45 days? Would I be stupid to move them over now? Should I just suck it up and wait another 21 days? Thanks!

www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com

ISpeakForTheSeas

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What really are the odds of infecting my DT with a parasite from an invert after no QT? After my 24 days so far? After 45 days? Would I be stupid to move them over now? Should I just suck it up and wait another 21 days? Thanks!
The odds are astronomically low - but not zero. For most people, nothing bad will happen (at least disease wise; algae, hydroids, and the like are a different matter) if they don't quarantine their inverts at all. For a few people (like the OP in the thread below), however, they'll draw a short straw.

Whether the extremely low-probability of a highly negative outcome is worth quarantining for 45 days at 81F (the temp being 81F or more over the duration of the QT is important for maximum biosecurity here) over or not is up to you, but most people will say it's not. If you're particularly risk-averse (like I am with things like this), though, then you may believe it to be worthwhile.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
Review score
+12 /0 /-0
View Badges