Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys, how is t going? I’m a professional photographer based in New York New to the reefing hobby. Here is a shot of my recently upgraded Innivative Marine 30L

66C2871E-DDBB-4147-BA37-4D7EFAC08EDA.jpeg

Shot on a Hasselblad H6Dc 100mp with the 80mm f/2.8

Avast

revhtree

Owner Administrator
Review score
+3 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+3 /0 /-0
Rating - 100%
1   0   1
Welcome and can't wait to see you photograph this hobby we love so much!

Mark Derail

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome aboard.

Hopefully you can help me understand the circle of confusion. I find it coufusing. And I need someone’s brain to pick about MF closeup lenses.

You need to be close to your subject. Or you can use a wide-angle telephoto to "zoom in" from afar. This method gives you a very shallow depth-of-range (any macro has a shallow DOR), but, requires a LOT of light, and between lens & subject no light pollution or anything on the tank glass.

Marine housings, also known as underwater camera bags, come in cheap & very expensive setups. I've seen nice results with the large ZipLock freezer bags, usually doubled-up for security, and an elastic band around the lens so that the plastic is taught and won't remove from the image quality too much.
Amazon & such sell "tourist" camera bags so you can take your favorite DSLR or mirror-less camera underwater with you when you go snorkeling on your vacation.

If someone has a "frag tank", as in, water less than 12" deep, you can use those floating round glass viewing panes - and shoot through that.

Practice, practice, practice! Especially on flowers, or an apple or orange, to get your technique pat. Every camera / lens has a different "sweet spot" for macro. Find yours, measure the distances, and see how you can apply that distance to your tank buddies.