Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys, I am new to the hobby and I have a 20 gallon that's been running for a a few months now and all cycled. I am having problems with green hair algae and I have been removing it manually to prevent it. It's not a lot yet but it grows on the aquarium glass. I've read that it might be how much im feeding so i cut down on feeding, I have also just been turning my lights on for just 6 hours. Can it be my phosphate is way too high? Any advice is appreciated thank you so much!

Phosphate - 1.0
Nitrate - 10ppm

Screen Shot 2022-07-28 at 4.34.26 PM.png

www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com
Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED bar

Lavey29

7500 Club Member
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How would I lower my phosphate? Would phosguard by seachem work or is any other method is more effective?
I like phosguard because it walks phosphate down slowly. New tanks are going to have unstable parameters and ugly stages. Reducing light to 6 hours with blue and uv only ly no white will help. Manual removal and a diverse cleaner crew. You need to identify what is raising your phosphate? Pellet food and coral supplements will raise phosphate. Frozen food much better. Add a bag of phosguard to your sump and monitor what you feed.

Uncle99

5000 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How would I lower my phosphate? Would phosguard by seachem work or is any other method that is more effective?
I use Rowaphos myself, comes with a bag, in a flow area.
But yes, GFO that down but really slow and make sure you don’t mop all of it up, we want trace amounts.

Hanna makes a Ultra low Range phosphorus checker in PPB, that’s billion…..very very helpful in managing the levels of this important nutrient.

OP
OP
harkey

harkey

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score