+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

I have been dosing Kalk for about two months now. I had some pH measurement issues with my two probes but now I have settled on one particular probe, which calibrates well.

Now I have stopped dosing Kalk for the last two weeks as I have noticed my pH creeping up. I now get a diurnal peak of 8.65 and a low of 8.28 overnight without adding anything. The tank inhabitants don't show any signs of stress.

Should I be concerned?

AquaCave Logo Banner
www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com

arking_mark

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Let's say you're use a high-alk salt, perfect indoor air quality, and perfect tank aeration...expect pH is 8.38 NBS.

SmartSelect_20230402_154647_Pydroid 3.jpg

Nutramar Foods

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I expect that pH of 8.65 is not accurate when not dosing kalkwasser, unless the alkalinity is very high.

If it is that high, simple aeration will lower it.

Corals.com
OP
OP
JulesH

JulesH

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I expect that pH of 8.65 is not accurate when not dosing kalkwasser, unless the alkalinity is very high.

If it is that high, simple aeration will lower it.
Hi Randy, can I ask why you say the pH is not accurate when not dosing kalwasser, my alkalinity is 9.3.

gbroadbridge

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

I have been dosing Kalk for about two months now. I had some pH measurement issues with my two probes but now I have settled on one particular probe, which calibrates well.