Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I recently set up a new 83 gallons tank. The overflow is making a lot of noise from the air hole on top and splashing water sound in the sump. I think this overflow is call Herbie.

I use a sicce 3.0 as a return pump and the only way I was able to somewhere reduce the noise was to slow the return pump by releasing some of the water back into the sump/refugium.

While this help with the noise, I feel like I have redirected 75% of the return line back into the sump and the flow to the sump from the main display is not enough.

I am not good with plumbing anything so hopefully you guys can help me out with some solutions.
Should I drill another airhole on the overflow? There is one on it already. Would that allow me to have the return pump move more water without making a lot of noise?
Let say another additional airhole solve the sound on the overflow, how do I deal with water splashing sound in the sump if I incease the return pump flow?

Thanks.

Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED bar

Instigate

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you have your drain pipe submerged below the water line it will quiet the splashing. I plumbed mine so it is just above the sock then added a little extension to get below, but I didnt glue it to make changing filter socks easier.

Nutramar Foods
OP
OP
bk_market

bk_market

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I do have the drain pipe about 1" below the water surface in the sump. I can hear the air bubble out from under the pipe when water goes through it. Though I hear a lot more noise from the air hole on the top of the overflow pipe in the display tank. It like whistling sound through the hole.

Vahanyos

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0