+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi fellow Reefers

I thought I would post a recent experience I had with overdosing NoPox.

On Saturday my tank finally finished cycling after nearly 4months, I was very patient with the cycling.

As expected my Nitrates and Phosphates were off the scale. I did a 50% water change left it 24hours and tested again. Nitrates and Phosphates were still to high even for fish.

On Sunday I set one of my dosing heads up with NoPox which I have had plenty of experience and sucess with. My plan was to bring Nitrates and Phosphates down slowly via carbon dosing and weekly small water changes.

Here comes the but ! Instead of setting my dosing head to 9ml per day , I set it to 90ml per day.

Come Sunday evening I noticed my tank became slightly cloudy , that's when I went over my tank and my settings! Bang there it was 90ml per day ! My first reaction was turn off the dosing head and leave it overnight !

Photo one below was the morning after ! As you can see a huge bacteria bloom within the water column. You couldn't see your hand if you put it in the tank.

At this stage it's normally panic ! Planning 100% water change , stripping the sump out for cleaning ! However I remained calm and remembered not to react instantly.

Monday after work I turned my UV filter on that was currently off during my cycling! 24 hours later my tank was almost clear , photo 2.

The only challenge I had was my protein skimmer! Even with it dialed back to the lowest setting It could . It was still pouring water over the cup. So I just switched it off until this evening when the water cleared.

Alought it is still dialed right back its skimming all the dead bacteria excessively.

Another 24hours my tank should be completely clear and recovered however I will still need to pull my sump out , clean all my pumps , Skimmer, wave makers.

They are currently coated in slug and film from the bacteria.