+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello!
I’m new to the hobby and currently cycling a tank. 20 gallon.

i started the tank about 2 weeks ago I used bacto blend and bacto therapy to cycle the tank along with brine shrimps to feed the bacteria(was this a good idea?)

parameters are as follow (been testing every couple of days)

salinity - 1.025
Alkalinity - 8.7
Ammonia- 0
Nitrite - 0
Nitrate - 12.5
Phosphate - 0.04
Temp - 77-78F

i havent tested for calc and mag because i’m not gonna be adding any lps or sps corals anytime soon.

equipment
Ai prime 16hd
Tunze 6040
20 gallon aio tank

my long term plan for this tank(in a year’s time when it’s mature enough) will be a mixed reef.

my questions are;
- how would you suggest i go about adding corals? When do i start?
- is it okay to add sps in a 20 gallon tank? I keep hearing that they should be in bigger tanks. I only wanna keep about 2-3 of them in.
- seeding copepods, do i put them all in the sump? What type of pods is best? I only have access to tiger pods, for some reason my LFS have been unable to get them. I heard tiger pods are bad at reproducing and apex are best?
- when can i add fish?
- is a small lightning maroon clown okay? (I’ve been eyeing one for a while he’s less than 2 inches but i know they can get big)
- what stocking would ya’ll suggest for this tank?

Sorry too many questions.

Nutramar Foods

KrisReef

7500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!

For a first post and new reef keeper you have many questions, and they are much different that the typical "when is my tank cycled?"