+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey Guys,

Im a newbie that decided to get my very own reef tank after seeing a beautiful reef tank my friend had.

i did so of research on my own, and came up with a list of things i need to buy to have a successful tank, as well as how expensive it could get.

can you guys take a look at my list and give some feed back on how it looks?

as well as ways i can cut corners in-terms of cost without compromising quality (i would love it if it was silent)

Thanks!
Cost_Projection.png

Top Shelf Aquatics

Cerberusfish

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey Guys,

Im a newbie that decided to get my very own reef tank after seeing a beautiful reef tank my friend had.

i did so of research on my own, and came up with a list of things i need to buy to have a successful tank, as well as how expensive it could get.

can you guys take a look at my list and give some feed back on how it looks?

as well as ways i can cut corners in-terms of cost without compromising quality (i would love it if it was silent)

Thanks!
View attachment 1300252
You could potentially save on an RODI system that much I do know. I'm relatively new to the hobby as well and am using a cannister filter instead of a sump (eventually I'll have a sump on a bigger tank) but check nearby reef stores if they sell RO/DI water. I've got one right next to my work so when I need some I can grab it on my way home for 59 cents a gallon. If you really want to make it yourself you definitely can especially if you want to try and hook it up into your ATO system. But for me the buying it from a reef store right out of their treatment system works well. Also for when you start getting ready for corals etc to go in see if you can rent/borrow a PAR meter instead of buying one. A lot cheaper to spend $30 or so than buy a $200 tool you'll only really use a few times.

vetteguy53081