Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good afternoon. I am fairly new to reef keeping and very new to corals.

I will be getting a Blue Bruce Carlson Hammer, a Green Candycane and a Blue Cristata torch soon.

I had a few questions about care.
1. I have a API test kit to track high pH, Ammonia, Nitrite and Nitrate. What other paremeters should I track? Any kits you recommend?
2. Do you feed these corals or are they OK with photosynthesis and eating from the water column? If you feed, do you feed them the same foods?
3. I have Blue Ocean RX dip, to dip them before adding them to my reef. There are a lot of dips out there and it seems like many of them do different things. Is this enough or should I be doing additional dips prior to adding them to QT?

Thanks in advance!

Top Shelf Aquatics

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You will need nitrate, phosphate, alkalinity, calcium and magnesium. I recommend replacing your current tests with salifert, red sea or hanna.

Hard to tell how the corals will do. Generally brand new tanks don't fare well with coral. Rest is proper lighting, parameters, and stability.

Nutramar Foods

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
Review score
+12 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+12 /0 /-0
Wisconsin - Florida delayed due 2 hurricane damage
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
Good afternoon. I am fairly new to reef keeping and very new to corals.

I will be getting a Blue Bruce Carlson Hammer, a Green Candycane and a Blue Cristata torch soon.

I had a few questions about care.
1. I have a API test kit to track high pH, Ammonia, Nitrite and Nitrate. What other paremeters should I track? Any kits you recommend?
2. Do you feed these corals or are they OK with photosynthesis and eating from the water column? If you feed, do you feed them the same foods?