New Set Up Yet Questions after done setting up

AverageSnowPair10

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone,

I’m new here and glad to be part of the reef2reef community!

I have 2 years of reef keeping experience. However, I never kept corals. I have only kept anemones throughout my experience. Been successful for some time until some anemone splits end up deformed and end up crashing my tank.

Anyways, I want to set up a new 25 gallon “lagoon” from innovative Marine. I currently have a 40 gallon fish tank but since it had crashed, I decided to just switch to a easier tank almost half its size. I plan on keeping my 40 gallon fish tank as a quarantine tank in the future.

Every Material or items that I have for the Innovative Marine 25 gallon lagoon:
- Viparspectra165watt
- 150Watt Heater
- 2 SICCE voyager nano power heads (1000 & 2000)
- catty basket filter

With that said, I also want to switch salt brands from Instant Ocean Reef Crystals to Tropic Marine Pro-Reef and keep corals in my fish tank, yet I’ll need to go through lots of patience after I mix the new salt and pour it into the tank.

First question is, how long should I wait before adding corals into my first fish tank?

Now since im new to corals, I would love to keep SPS Corals in my 25 Lagoon reef tank. I’m still researching about coral acclimation into a new tank.

Although the corals that I want in my tank in the future are:
- Pulsing Xenia
- Anacropora
- Green Star Polyps

I don’t know much about Coral Aggression, but I will be very aware of what corals would be compatible with each other and other fish.

My Second Question is, are there diseases or parasites that corals can catch? If so, what diseases or parasites can they catch.

With everything said, I would love to know everyones experience‘s with their SPS, LPS, and NPS tanks or corals that they have owned or currently have in their tanks!

timmyrules

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0