+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Video link - https://photos.app.goo.gl/3CzxWx1eNGEQtwDfA

So I bought a new condo in Ft Lauderdale and inherited a mature marine aquarium. Which is great, because I always wanted one anyway, and am glad I don't need to set one up from scratch. I have a lot of experience with Freshwater tanks of all sizes (well, up to 55 gallons). But I have never actually had a saltwater tank before.

This picture is what it looks like (looks bluer than it actually is...the video is more accurate).
tank1.JPG

It is a 50 gallon wedge tank. The bottom is bare, but the tank is very healthy with no problems (nothing is sick, fish all get along, nothing is eating anything else).
It contains:
3 small clown fish​
3 corals (he told me the species, but I forgot)​
At least 2 rose Anemones (previous owner says he saw 3 though, but I've only located 2)​
1 shrimp (Banded coral shrimp? If not, it looks similar to that, like 2 or 3 inches)​
3 starfish - forgot the species, but they are the small kind (you can see one in the bottom left of the video) - I think 2 of them are brittle stars, but I never see them in the open​
A few small hermit crabs (like 1 cm or so) and small snails.​
Right now the tank is bare but I'd like to put in a little substrate, mostly just for aesthetic value. I had never heard the terms "living water" and "living sand" before now (though I knew what living rock was). I get living water here locally. He suggested I buy live sand online.

So here are my questions: