Maxspect gyre wavemaker settings help 200g

Bigreeflittlefish

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all so i have a IM int 200 gallon tank and i got some maxspect gyre wave makers but im blasting all my corals and sand alittle too much with it trying to find out a great settings for my corals to get good flow and stay wavy ideas?

OP
OP
B

Bigreeflittlefish

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Where do you have it positioned in the tank? I personally like the random flow mode and incremental increase/decrease pulse modes.
Left and right side walls centered flow faced alittle upwards
I’m pretty new with this model do you have pump A on one setting and B on other?

TX_REEF

Kessil Fanboy
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you can sync them, I'd set them to run counter to one another. I'd also recommend placing them near the top of the water's surface, that way they are creating plenty of surface agitation, and the gyre motion will more gently move the water lower in the water column. This also jives with most light-loving corals being placed up top, such as SPS, which will appreciate the more intense flow up top.

OP
OP
B

Bigreeflittlefish

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you can sync them, I'd set them to run counter to one another. I'd also recommend placing them near the top of the water's surface, that way they are creating plenty of surface agitation, and the gyre motion will more gently move the water lower in the water column. This also jives with most light-loving corals being placed up top, such as SPS, which will appreciate the more intense flow up top.
hmm I’ll give it a try is there a way to set it up on the controller to be ran counter to each other

TX_REEF

Kessil Fanboy
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hmm I’ll give it a try is there a way to set it up on the controller to be ran counter to each other