Mantis Behaviour

beautifulbriny

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all! I’m new to Mantis shrimps and I’m trying to find information about their behaviour, specifically in order to tell if they’re stressed/happy. I just bought an Australian gonodactylaceus species (unsure which specifically, seems to be a graphurus to me) for an established reef tank and would like to be able to tell what level of stress is normal.

Any general advice as a new owner would also be great.

Thank you in advance.

Fish Fan

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First of all, welcome to Reef2Reef!

I'm not an expert on Matids or your specific species. I have kept a Florida Neogonodactylus wennerae for some time.

What is going on with your guy? Is he eating? I'd say if it's eating it's fairly happy and well adjusted. These animals tend to be very hardy and can tolerate a good amount of stress. If it's brand new to your tank, it may just need a few days to get comfortable. Is there something specific that has you worried?

OP
OP
beautifulbriny

beautifulbriny

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First of all, welcome to Reef2Reef!

I'm not an expert on Matids or your specific species. I have kept a Florida Neogonodactylus wennerae for some time.

What is going on with your guy? Is he eating? I'd say if it's eating it's fairly happy and well adjusted. These animals tend to be very hardy and can tolerate a good amount of stress. If it's brand new to your tank, it may just need a few days to get comfortable. Is there something specific that has you worried?