Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I was at the lfs store the other day and saw a beautiful leopard wrasse for a great price. I was there picking up a nice China wrasse.

Trying to do my research before being impulsive. I’ve seen varying reports on the difficult of leopard wrasse. Some say expert only—is that true? I’ve been in the hobby about 6 years—not a total novice, but by no means an expert.

Can leopards and chinas coexist? And my understanding is that leopards eat mainly pods—I’m guessing that will rule out having a mandarin later down the line?

90g tank, about 110 pounds of live rock, 36g sump, fuge

www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com

Goaway

10K Club member
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I keep away from leopards because the first moment they get bullied, they might stop eating. They can be very timid and don't fight back.

Not sure if they can get along with the china wrasse

@SaltyT

AquaCave Logo Banner

homer1475

Figuring out the hobby one coral at a time.
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Only thing that makes leopards "expert only" is how they eat, and they absolutely suck when it comes to shipping.

If you can find one that is not super skinny, and already eating, they make great tank fish.

homer1475

Review score
+1 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I keep away from leopards because the first moment they get bullied, they might stop eating. They can be very timid and don't fight back.

@SaltyT
In al the years I've kept leopards(I've kept many, and at least one of each type), I have never found this to be true. Most leopards end up being the most boisterous fish in the tank.

www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com

homer1475

Review score
+1 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0