Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, too bad my first R2R post is about a sick fish, but what can you do.

The situation: I recently purchased a small tomini tang from an LFS which has a good reputation for a thorough QT process. After getting the fish home and acclimated, I did not notice anything unusual the first day. After a day or two, I noticed some raised whitish "dots" that were isolated to its left lateral line, and perhaps a scrape mark in the same area that it got from being skittish and hiding. I have 20+ years in the hobby and have experience with all manner of fish diseases, including ich. Although it looked similar to ich, because it was isolated to its lateral line and the spots were not random this made me suspect it was an injury/infection instead. I took several photos, and decided to move the fish to QT and take a couple closer photos in the process. (I was able to use a macro lens.) In the close up photos, it does not exactly look like ich cysts to me but instead almost like little dots of lymphocytis (even though I know this usually appears on thin fin tissue). I do not see any other spots elsewhere on the fish (maybe something by its left eye) and it otherwise seems healthy. No spots are appearing on any other fish. It was in the tank for around 8 days...

Here are some photos and I'm wondering if anyone else has an opinion.

P2240090.jpg

P2240092.jpg
P2240104.jpg
P2240115.jpg
P2240123.jpg
P2240162.jpg
P2240164.jpg

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
Review score
+12 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+12 /0 /-0
Wisconsin - Florida delayed due 2 hurricane damage
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
Hello, too bad my first R2R post is about a sick fish, but what can you do.