Is your VorTech battery backup warm to the touch?

Ecotech Marine

Wiskey

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all! This one is quick, is your VorTech battery backup warm to the touch? I’m talking about the white box itself. Mine is noticeably above room temperature, like probably 90 degrees, and the charger that’s plugged into it is showing red like charging most of the time now when I used to see mostly green.

im concerned that the batteries inside might be at the end of their life. They only last a couple years, and I got it used, and free with the MP-60’s I bought, so I don’t know it’s history.

Thank you!
Whiskey

www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com

jsker

Reefing is all about the adventure
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am not an electrician, sounds like you should disconnect the back up until you get a solid answer.

AS

Rennurdoar

2500 Club Member
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Hello all! This one is quick, is your VorTech battery backup warm to the touch? I’m talking about the white box itself. Mine is noticeably above room temperature, like probably 90 degrees, and the charger that’s plugged into it is showing red like charging most of the time now when I used to see mostly green.

im concerned that the batteries inside might be at the end of their life. They only last a couple years, and I got it used, and free with the MP-60’s I bought, so I don’t know it’s history.

Thank you!
Whiskey

I did some quick research. It looks like the battery that is inside the Vortech are the WP18-12I and have an expected lifespan of 3-5 years. If it's constantly trying to charge the batteries and getting warm. I'd say it's a good indication that the batteries are shot.

Battery Spec Sheet