+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I'm totally new to reefs, but have been keeping FOWLR systems for about 15 years. I purchased a cauliflower colt and a candy cane last week. Neither one has looked good since purchase, and the cauliflower is definitely showing some necrosis in one spot, although it doesn't smell bad at all (yet).

My question is, is the cauliflower colt totally gone, or could it still come back with proper conditions? I'm very unfamiliar with what "normal" is with corals, but the leather definitely looks unhappy.

System:
15G QT w/ HOB filter, internal powerhead (240gph), 5lb live rock from mature system,50W heater, and a high flow air stone

Lighting
: (turned off in the photos): ABI 12W PAR38 LED coral spectrum bulb @ 4 inches above water. I did a 5 min dip in Bayer at 10ml/4oz acclimated tank water. I went lights off for 24 hours after unpacking.

Water parameters:
NH4, NO2,NO3, PO4, Si, =>0
Temp: 75
Salinity: 1.025
Ca: 450
Mag:1300
Alk: 9
pH: 8.3

Any input on what could be done at this point, whether it be removal or waiting it out, would be greatly appreciated. I'd hate to leave it in too long, and harm the candy cane. Thanks in advance.

cauliflower colt 2.JPG
cauliflower colt 1.JPG

World Wide Corals
OP
OP
P

pacificdiver

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No smell yet, so I'm assuming it can "come back from the dead" with proper conditions? I've checked everything I know to look for, as far as parameters, and everything seems fine.

Should I leave lights on at this point? They came from a MH setup, and I'm using a low PAR led, which I was told would be adequate for a 2-4 wk stay in quarantine, for these types of corals. I have a spare Kessil 360WE that could be placed over the tank, but I was actually concerned about burning them when they're stressed.

www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com
OP
OP
P

pacificdiver