Is the Acropora a beginner coral or not?

Preston's_Waters

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As the title shows I am a beginner and I am considering getting an Acro or two.

Forgive me if this is a dumb question to some or not, but I have seen mixed results online and I know there are threads on this topic but I started a new thread in hope for direct answers. I am 1 1/2 months into this 13.5 evo and I am pretty much a beginner at reefing. I have successfully kept a GSP, two Zoa's, a sinularia leather, hammer, psammocora, and cyphastrea alive and happy (I know these are beginner corals). I know again this might be a dumb question, but I am considering getting an acro because they are so purchased for so cheap at the auctions(at my LFS). The coral store I go to is The Coral Vault in Hasslet, Tx. I don't know why but they are and I have seen threads where acro's are easy and where they are not. I will provide anymore tank info if asked for.

Anything helps, thanks for advice or suggestions

Coral vault website link if ya'll want to check it out:

gbroadbridge

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Simple answer is that for most folks, acropora are a coral you will look at after you have gained some experience.

It's not black and white as there are beginner acros and there are difficult ones.

If you're completely new, I'd suggest waiting a year for the tank to mature and to some gain experience.

If you don't you may waste a lot of money on coral that die.

Townes_Van_Camp

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm a mid level hobbyist. I am not an expert so take it for what it's worth. Acro is easier to grow than euphylia. But acro is less forgiving.

Anyone can keep acropora with automation, even in the tiniest nano.

1. Reliable ATO
2. Reliable dose pump
3. Consistent parameters

However, under perfect circumstances everything is easy. When things aren't perfect, is the test.