Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have officially done the Newbie Mistake...I have accidentally introduced Ich into my tank. I did not know that invertebrates were carriers until it was too late and did not quarantine some hermits and coral frags. Now, two weeks later, my fish have either Ich or Velvet.

I have 2 options available:

1. I can remove the few pieces of live rock we have corals on, take out the Coral Banded Shrimp, the 4 hermits and the snails and put them in a 10 gallon Quarantine tank for the next 2 1/2 months and treat my 72 gallon display tank (which I'm battling an Aptasia outbreak on at the moment )

2. Remove my Yellow Tang, 2 Clownfish, Yellow Tail Damsel, Neon Dottyback and Watchman Goby and put *them* in my 10 gallon quarantine tank and treat that tank while letting my display tank go fallow.

Thoughts? Recommendations? Ideas? I'm new to Saltwater Fish and Reef Tanks. I transferred from being a freshwater girl and I officially feel like I'm in over my head because my research didn't tell me about invertebrates carrying Ich or Velvet.

AS
OP
OP
vgliha

vgliha

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not sure those fish would do well in a 10 gallon tank. Plus, not cycled, correct? I'm doing tank transfer right now to deal with ich, but I only have a few small fish.

Correct with not being cycled. All of the fish are babies with the exception of the Tang and Damsel. So I know daily water changes of 20-50% are in my future if I put all of them in my 10 gallon.

If I treat the main tank, would the treatment hurt the live rock and live sand microorganisms?

AS
OP
OP
vgliha

vgliha

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Any pics? Let's see if we can decide what you're dealing with.