Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am in a reboot after a time away. I have never used a QT system before, I have been at this since the early 90s. I have decided to give QT a try.

I purchased 3 fish two weeks ago and have them coming out of HTTM and going into an observation tank tonight. My thing is, every single reefer I speak to IRL does not quarantine. My mentor does not, his mentor does not. I was in the LFS last week and they asked if I was ready for more fish. I said when I get done with QT for my current batch. The owner mentioned my patience and in talking, he said that to his knowledge, almost none uses QT that purchases fish there. He said his employees and he do not for their personal tanks.

It just go me thinking, who uses quarantine? Do you use it just for fish or everything wet? What method do you use?

nuxx

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I quarantine EVERYTHING wet, including coral and inverts.

The downside to this is a lost of a lot of frags and some CUC doing this.

The positives, was I never lost a fish to disease in the display.

I did have lots of extra tanks running though.

mike550

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I try to quarantine everything. But more of an observation tank than anything else. Fish for at least a couple of weeks, and I let coral frags grow out until I’m comfortable that there aren’t any critters (dipped before going into QT) and they’ve started to grow. Not sure what to do about inverts yet.

hoffmeyerz

Review score
+1 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0