How do I quarantine in Canada?

LunaSky

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So it would seem like the only way to quarantine in Canada is 1- Observe only, or 2- Copper and Hyposalinity. I recently had the worst thing happen to any reef-keeper... marine velvet. The issue is, in Canada, fish medications are illegal. Luckily, I was able to find copper on Amazon, but nothing else. After some research, it seems Hyposalinity is the next best thing for treating all the hundreds of other issues we might find while reef keeping. But there doesn't seem to be a lot of info on this for us Canadians. And honestly, because I'm so confused on the topic, I've never done an in-depth quarantine before.

So, my questions are... do I do a 3 minute freshwater dip only once before treating with copper? Or do I bring the salinity down to 1.009 and keep it there for thirty days? And if so, do I do the hyposalinity first and THEN the copper, or copper first?

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So it would seem like the only way to quarantine in Canada is 1- Observe only, or 2- Copper and Hyposalinity. I recently had the worst thing happen to any reef-keeper... marine velvet. The issue is, in Canada, fish medications are illegal. Luckily, I was able to find copper on Amazon, but nothing else. After some research, it seems Hyposalinity is the next best thing for treating all the hundreds of other issues we might find while reef keeping. But there doesn't seem to be a lot of info on this for us Canadians. And honestly, because I'm so confused on the topic, I've never done an in-depth quarantine before.

So, my questions are... do I do a 3 minute freshwater dip only once before treating with copper? Or do I bring the salinity down to 1.009 and keep it there for thirty days? And if so, do I do the hyposalinity first and THEN the copper, or copper first?