Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to saltwater and my tank is just done cycling. Ammonia 0ppm, nitrites 0ppm, nitrates 10ppm, specific gravity 1.021. I just got 12 blue legged hermit crabs for my tank yesterday and they were active all day. I went to bed last night and woke up this morning and now they're all just kinda standing there... They're not dead, they can be spooked back into their shells and provoked into moving but they're just not going anywhere, I've been watching them for a few hours and none of them have moved any more than an inch. It would seem to me like there's something wrong with my water quality for them to be acting like that but there's nothing that I know of? Any Ideas what's going on?

Top Shelf Aquatics

Tamberav

7500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to saltwater and my tank is just done cycling. Ammonia 0ppm, nitrites 0ppm, nitrates 10ppm, specific gravity 1.021. I just got 12 blue legged hermit crabs for my tank yesterday and they were active all day. I went to bed last night and woke up this morning and now they're all just kinda standing there... They're not dead, they can be spooked back into their shells and provoked into moving but they're just not going anywhere, I've been watching them for a few hours and none of them have moved any more than an inch. It would seem to me like there's something wrong with my water quality for them to be acting like that but there's nothing that I know of? Any Ideas what's going on?

1.021 is low for inverts. 1.026 is appropriate.

AquaCave Logo Banner

hbubley

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Specific gravity seems low to me, usually it's kept around 1.025, but this may not be a problem. I have limited experience, following and waiting for someone more expert to comment.

vetteguy53081