Help

mihali

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m a new reefer I’m just starting out in the hobby. I have a 7 gal tank (will be upgrading to a 50-60 gal) with 3 turbo snails 3 nassarius snails a very very small clown fish a green coral goby and regal damsel. It’s about 2 months old. I started with 3 hermits and a serpent star a regal damsel and the nassarius snails, the star died and one hermit got savaged by the other one and then the remaining two didn’t come out there shell once and died. The ammonia and nitrite was a little bit elevated. Now all the fish are doing fine and the snails are as well. What could be the cause.

TX_REEF

Kessil Fanboy
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome!

7 gallons is very difficult to keep stable, especially for a beginner. Likely too much livestock too soon. Go slow. Tell us about how you cycled, what equipment you have. Pics might help. Give us your water parameters.

OP
OP
mihali

mihali

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m not home at the moment I will be on Friday but pH is 8.2 I can’t remember the nitrite and ammonia but nitrate is 40 ppm
A small internal filter And LED light and just a normal heater I cycled with a crab I found on the beach and waited about six weeks until ammonia and nitrite was zero for two weeks and nitrate was starting to show up

OP
OP
mihali

mihali

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Last time I tested the nitrite was 0 and ammonia was under 1ppm nitrate 40 ppm ph 8.2 that was on Sunday before I did a water change

TX_REEF

Kessil Fanboy
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0