Help with identification (little white branched corals)

marcovolpato

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Greetings,

I know this forum is not specifically related to my question, but I would like to give it a try. I am a researcher working at GEOMAR in Kiel, Germany. I am mapping the seabed of Madeira (northeastern Atlantic) to identify habitats, and I have found several small white branched corals that form aggregations. We are unable to determine if they are a distinct species or small individuals of other species, considering their maximum length is about 10 cm. If anyone has information that could help with their identification, I would greatly appreciate it. I am not even sure that they are Cnidarians, so it would be helpful to understand if my guesses regarding their phylum are correct. I would also be grateful for the names of other sites or contacts if you know any experts. Thank you very much for your help!

1.png 2.png 3.png 4.png Immagine 2024-06-17 160124.png Immagine 2024-06-17 160340.png Immagine 2024-06-17 160354.png Immagine 2024-06-17 160420.png

encrustingacro

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
We likely would not be able to help given the locality and such blurry photos. Most corals us hobbyists are familiar with are from the tropical West-Pacific. If you want someone who would might have an idea, you should ask Joe Rowlett, either on Twitter or iNaturalist.

awHudson

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Greetings,