Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to reef keeping and my LPS and SPS are dying. My tank recently was invaded with green hair algae and I noticed my chalice, candy canes, and other stoney corals are in a bad way. Not sure if the gha is just a coincidence or cause but my parameters seem way off. The corals are all shrunken and shriveled and starting to bleach.

Parameters
32 gallon Biocube about 8 months old
Temp 78-79
Salinity 1.026-27
Ca 720 ppm
Mg 1.300 ppm
P.H. 8.0 (seems really high but I only have test strips to measure this so unsure of accuracy)

Fish:
6 line wrasse
Fairy Basslet
Diamond Goby
Firefish Goby

All the fish and soft corals appear to be doing fine.

Any help is appreciated, thanks.

20230501_131123.jpg 20230501_131101.jpg 20230501_131343.jpg

Top Shelf Aquatics
OP
OP
T

TBLightning

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do you know your alkalinity, nitrates and phosphates levels? What kind of lights do you have?
Nitrates were 0, but once again I only have those multi-test strips to check that. Everything on the test strip was within normal range except the PH. Lighting is the stock biocube lights. Unsure what they are, sorry.

Edit, they were doing great and growing up until about a week or 2 ago.

World Wide Corals

fodsod

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Without some reliable ways to test for Phosphate, Nitrate, Alk and PH you're going to have a very very difficult time creating a stable tank that will support LPS and SPS.

Pick up some actual quality test kits and see where your water parameters are ASAP. You could take a sample to a LFS but that will only tell you where your water is at that moment.

bushdoc

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0