+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all, I was hoping to get some help.

I am a beginner that installed a Red Sea Reefer 750 (160 gallon tank). I cycled the tank for 2 weeks (using Dr. Tim's) and had zero ammonia, zero nitrites, and around 17 for nitrates. I then did a 25% water change. I then added in 4 clownfish and 7 banggai cardinal fish from my LFS on a recommendation to start getting nutrient load in that size of a tank.

Unfortunately, after about 2 days, one of the Banggai cardinal fish died. It would just swim low in the water and not eat. I initially assumed I had just gotten a "bad" fish. Then 5 days later, another Banggai cardinal fish started to exhibit the same behavior. It would start swimming low in the corner and not eat. And then it also died. I was hoping that was the end, but then 3 days later I started to see one of the clownfish start to act strange. It also was swimming low and then died today.

I took a video of what it looked like before it died: https://photos.app.goo.gl/adYScTbZZCwE7Q9p6

I am really worried I have some sort of disease and that it will take out ALL of my fish. I keep checking my water and it looks fine -- 8.1 PH, 0 Ammonia, 0 Nitrites, 17.0 Nitrates, 0.06 Phosphates. The only thing I can see is low is Alkalinity (it was at 6.7).

Any idea what to do? The other fish all seem healthy, but so did the clownfish just a few days ago.

Any help would be appreciated!

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You need to pull remaining fish, fallow the tank, and not skip disease preps on round two

no params you can measure did this

see the stickies in the disease forum for the fix

notice for the entire disease forum: nobody is adjusting parameters, or fixated on measuring them, they’re disease prepping. It’s a physical set of acts you do to a tank to prevent this kind of disease loss.