Hanna Alkalinity Test Reagent Gone Bad?

chiefifd

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've had a busy summer like everyone, haven't tested my 90 gallon reef I've had set up for about 10 years in several months.
I use Hanna Checkers for most of the water parameters. This morning I tested for Alkalinity and got a reading of 2.2 dKH with the Hanna Checker. I re-tested and got the same approximate reading of 2.1 dKH. I've been using RED SEA regular salt for several years, so I mixed up a new batch of salt, tested it, I was shocked to see 2.2 dKH from the fresh batch of RED SEA salt mix.
The Hanna Reagent isn't outdated 12/2024 but was probably opened 01/2024 (Best Guess).
I hadn't checked for Magnesium in the tank which could be an issue. But the new batch of water using RE SEA salt should be around 7 dKH. The PH in the tank is 8.02 - Calcium 450 - Nitrates 9.5
Looks like my Reagent went bad I'm thinking, wondering if anyone else experienced a like event.

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes, these reagents can start to fail after opening &/or age.

The interesting thing I learned on here recently is that salt in a bucket can also drop off in Alk & Calcium as the salts react with moisture, i think ending up with calcium carbonate(? forgetting specific end product atm) that doesn't dissolve in water and impacts Alk, but does it lower it that much? I don't think so.

Hanna Reagents should likely be replaced. BumpS

gbroadbridge

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've had a busy summer like everyone, haven't tested my 90 gallon reef I've had set up for about 10 years in several months.