Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hey all. so i may have messed up, i recently bought a goniopora without doing proper research (i know, rookie mistake.) for reference-- the only coral i currently keep is a purple frilly gorgonian so i am by no means an expert.

i digress, i went to bond the goni frag to a piece of rock with liquid CA glue and the glue got on a good portion of the goni. i was able to peel most of it off with a needle but i feel like the whole scenario really irritated the coral-- the connective tissue between the polyps went from a plump, purplish brown to a desiccated pale color-- see attached photos. i am currently letting the coral settle on lower lights with my fingers crossed. any idea what caused this if not the glue mishap, and can it be remedied, or did my rookie mistakes and lack of research cost me this coral?

when the coral first arrived note the plumpness of the connecting tissue around the skeleton:
AAB40143-8533-44DC-B06B-09F4741BABF2.jpeg

after the glue mishap, today before polyp extension:
372DBC4E-5D4B-49B6-9970-241052CEB011.jpeg

this is the coral with its polyps extended today:
0995445E-C2FC-45D0-9159-AD0C58D3675C.jpeg

tank specs: 3 gal pico cube, 5 months old.
lomine asta20 at 40% strength blue, 40% violet, 10%. red green UV, 20% white light.
74-79f (day-night difference, room temperature seeing as it is warm in georgia-- i run 1-2 small heaters in the winter.)
34 salinity
marina HOB with carbon and ceramic, live rubble and sponge for filtration
and a tunze 106s for more flow.

i can do a full panel with my test kit tomorrow if you all want to know the nitrite, nitrate, ph and ammonia. its overdue for a test anyways.

thank you!

AS

Soilworker

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0