Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been battling GHA for the past 4 months and feel like I've thrown the kitchen sink at it. I run aquatic life t5 hybrid with 3xhydra26 HD's on a 125 gallon mixed reef with 30 gallon sump with roller mat, skimmer, and refugium, although the GHA has basically taken over and just about killed the macro algae in the refugium. I've vacuumed the sump twice and it currently has just as much GHA as the MD, even in the skimmer though I gave it a full citric bath 2 months ago. I replaced the T5 bulbs with brand new, have been fairly consistent with 15% water changes weekly although i am now doing 2x30 gallon water changes weekly. I tried a full dose of flux RX, gfo a few times, a few times each week I manually removal in which pluck it and siphon it back down to a filter sock in my sump and scrub the rocks in the tank with a toothbrush, I've added a one spot foxface and a yellow tang, I've added 7 pincushion urchins which mow it down but it grows back in that spot within a few days, I've tried GFO, I added an additional 100 snails and 100 hermit crabs along with emerald crabs from Reeftopia. I also added 7 turbo snails which died about a week after putting them in. I tried dosing Macrobacter7 and Microbacter Clean per bottle recommendations at different times. I've also been dosing a DIY NOPOX at 4ml/day for about a month now. My t5's have been off for about 2 months and just running the hydra's on AB+ schedule so not a lot of reds and whites. Last month I replaced my Jaebo powerheads with 2 MP40's and thinking of adding at least one more because I'm not sure they're enough for a 6' tank. I make my own RODI water though the BRS 5 stage 75 GPD unit in which i change the sediment filter every 2 months and the carbon and DI every 6 months and have around 90 TDS in and 0 TDS out consistently.