+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello Everyones,

I wanna start by saying Im new to the hobby. I have a fluval 13.5 about 6 months old. I recently purchased a crocea clam from AlgaeBarn (1.5-2in). I did temperature acclimation and drip acclimation. The clam is on a clam holder on the bottom of the tank for light acclimation right now. I have AI Prime 16 HD running the Saxby setting with full intensity. I have couple questions for the experts.

1. How long should I acclimate the clam with the light? It opened up very nicely and very responsive to shadow.

2. Im going to feed it algaebarn phytoplankton. What other brand do you recommend and how often should I feed it?

3. Im going to attach couple photos. 1 showing the current location and 1 showing where I wanna move it up to. Can someone tell me if I move it up, will the light be too strong and bleach it? I do not know my par. The light is about 8-10in above water surface.

This is my parameters
Temp 78-79
NH3 0
NO2 0
NO3 3
PO4 0.03
Cal 450
Mg 1425
Alk 8.0
pH 8.0

I really appreciate any advices you may have. Thanks.

3027481F-983F-4B53-B80E-974FCCF88AA1.jpeg 0734CF91-C172-4C05-B164-56DE5B56ACE6.jpeg

LordofCinder

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
congrats on your new clam.

Any type of phyto will do, it gets its food mostly/mainly from the light, so no need to feed too much at all, just a couple times a week is sufficient.

They can take a lot of light, much more than your hammer and candy cane, so I wouldnt worry about bleaching it. Mine is on the top rock 8 inches under 150 wats metal halide, they love light.

Miami Reef

I’m the problem, it’s me
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Minimum 325 par needed for crocea.