Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to the hobby and have spent a great deal of time researching what I want, can afford and method of attack. I've settled on a 20 gallon Waterbox AIO with one AI 16HD LED light. My plan, which I hope will solicit criticism or affirmation, is as follows:

1. Mix 20 gallons saltwater using a 6 Stage Deluxe Plus 75 GPD RO/DI System and hw-Marinemix Professional Salt Mix in a Rubbermaid garbage can with a heater set at 78 degrees and a small cheap powerhead.

2. Purchase approximately 15 lbs of cured live rock from my LFS and live sand and cook it for three months in the 20 gallons of salt water heated to 78 degrees, flow from a cheap powerhead in a small rubber garbage can with the lid over it. Maintain salinity at 1.025 with no water changes.

3. After 12 weeks, test water for ammonia. If no ammonia, move live rock, sand and approximately 10 gallons of water into new Waterbox Cube 20 Nano AIO Aquarium along with 10 gallons of newly mixed salt water. Perform leak check and ensure that return pump and other items are working correctly. Setup Osmolator Nano 3152 Auto Top Off system and install VorTech MP10mQD powerhead.

4. Test water, if no ammonia is detected, add one clownfish (purchased from LFS) and operate with no light over the next four weeks while testing water parameters.

5. After 4 weeks perform 50% water change and install Prime 16 HD LED Reef Light and acclimate to approximately 100 PAR.

6. A week or so after, add three small frags of zoanthids.

I plan to not use a skimmer and run a filtersock, carbon and some bioballs and/or dark live rock rubble.

Long range fish plans include the clownfish, a lawnmower blenny and a peppermint shrimp.
Clean up crew will consist of snails and hermit crabs as algae starts to grow.
Long range coral plan are zoanthids, neon GSP and montipora.

All livestock will be added slowly over a year. I have the patience of a statue.