+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone. I'm Ana :)
I wanted to ask you for help, I am a biotechnologist and I am doing a master's degree in marine biotechnology, as a proposal for my master's thesis I want to design a bacterial product that helps corals grow healthy.

Any common problem or disease for which you have no solution in your aquariums?

World Wide Corals

MysticBlue

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I wanted to ask you for help, I am a biotechnologist and I am doing a master's degree in marine biotechnology, as a proposal for my master's thesis I want to design a bacterial product that helps corals grow healthy.

Bleaching!!!!!!!! If you could solve bleaching or rather fix bleaching I would spend a lot of money on that product!!!! I’ve been studying it myself and really want to fix this problem! I’ve been doing test on some frag corals where I’ll raise the temp to almost 97 degrees to simulate global warming and then when the corals bleaching I try every to try to save them!! Like injecting them with photosynthetic algae that’s from some of the coral that’s the same species and I think that’s actually helping it slow the bleaching but it doesn’t stop it

MnFish1

10K Club member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

FYI - you might get more responses if you post in the general reef aquarium discussion. There are numerous problems in the aquarium - various algae, dinoflagellates, etc that would be far easier to study than 'corals' - and far less costly. For example there are SPS corals, LPS corals, Soft Corals, etc. There are also multiple bacterial products out there that supposedly affect some of these things. Which would at least give you a start in figuring out what kind/type, etc of bacteria to use.