Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey I'm relatively new to the hobby. I have 3 blue green chromis and one of them is constantly getting picked on. I'm noticing marks on his / her sides now. I feel bad for the little guy. Is there anything that I can do to help him?
They will often times pick on the weakest of the bunch. I know ppl recommend to keep them in odd pairs. We’re they from the same place and same tank?

Top Shelf Aquatics

Bucs20fan

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In large aquariums it has been observed to be able to keep them as a group or small school, but more often than not, they all eventually end up killing each other, specifically in smaller aquariums.

ilikefish69

Kind of a Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes. My LFS
That is a good thing. It really just depends on the situation and tank size. Make sure enough rocks for places to hide in, and be ready to remove and rehome if bullying doesn’t stop. I have 2 in my 125 and they get along well with each other

Sharkbait19

7500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is pretty typical with chromis. They frequently will pick each other off until only 1 is left (similar to tiger barbs if you have any freshwater experience). This is often mitigated with a large school, but your tank size and stocking really determines how big you can go.

Nutramar Foods

exnisstech

2500 Club Member
Review score
+2 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+2 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You'll most likely end up with one. At least that has been my experience. On two seperate occasions I added groups of 7 all at once. Both times I ended up with a single one. These were both 6ft tanks, a 150g and 180g with lots of rock for hiding.