Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi. I purchased and received chaeto (golf ball size) from algae barn last week. This is for my Biocube 32 g (placed in the second chamber). At the same time I ordered a kessil h80 which I intended to use but was not shipped with the chaeto. I just set it up now. I was using a standard light bulb for the time being.
I noticed that the chaeto is turning white. There is some green chaeto still in there.

Not sure if I should just remove the Chaeto or there is still a chance for it to survive and grow with the new light.

I am new to this. I would appreciate any thoughts/advice.

Thanks.

shakacuz

5000 Club Member
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
how new is the tank? any fish in it? how much do you feed? how often?

you may be low on the micro nutrients(manganese, iron, etc) which is causing the chaeto to turn white even with a light over it.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
C

Charlie G

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The tank is over a year old. Have 2 clowns and a royal gramma and only a few coral. I have had gha for several months with nitrate steadily at around 6-7 and phosphate o.24-0.26. I do a 15% water change every week
I just started with Chaeto last week but because I have been away the light (a standard bulb) was running about 3 hours a night. I didn’t feel comfortable running while asleep as it was right between my wall and the back of the tank. I have been waiting for my H80 to arrive which I was able to install tonight.
I honestly have been giving it very little light.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
C

Charlie G

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0