Caribsea Life Rock or Aquaroche or Ceramic Ornaments? (or something else)

wwarby

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm just in the process of setting up a 50 gallon mantis shrimp tank. I'm completely new to the hobby, so I'm learning everything as I go. I've ordered most of my gear, but I'm doubting the practicality of some of my aquascaping decisions, and I'd be very grateful for some opinions. To give some context of how little I understand aquascaping do's and don'ts at the moment, most of the photos I sent to the salesman to show him what I liked were of freshwater tanks because I had failed to recognise the difference :oops:

The shop where I've ordered everything from doesn't really do reef rock of any kind - they do a sterile ceramic live rock imitation called aquaroche which I'm told can significantly reduce cycle time, but aside from a little impatience on my part I think that's more of an advantage for the shop than for me (I've ordered the mantis shrimp from them and it's taking up space in the shop until I'm ready for it). I wasn't massively keen on aquaroche - it seems pretty expensive, starts out as an inert concrete colour (though I know that will change over time) and it comes in a handful of large pre-designed pieces which can't be broken apart and rearranged, so I'd have to imagine the design based on photos or have the salesman endlessly rearrange and photograph it for me (the shop is a long way from where I live).

As an alternative the salesman suggested these faux rock grey ceramic ornaments which I ended up going for, along with this dark substrate, Seachem Gray Coast. However, I'm doubting my choices here so I've asked the shop to hold off sending out the order whilst I give it more thought.