+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

I have a 25 lagoon with a couple acans, a hammer, a zoa, a monti, and a ricordea florida. I've been struggling with low alkalinity and high Mag & calcium. I was at WWC the other day and they recommended I use Brightwell 8.3 to raise my alkalinity without raising my calcium.

Here are my test results before dosing (7/18):
Alk: 8.9 (Hanna)
Calc: 546 (Hanna)
Mag: 1500+ (unmeasurable - Salifert)

I dosed the buffer on 7/20

Here they are after (7/22):
Alk: 9.7
Calc: 541
Mag: 1500+ (still unmeasurable)

The calc has been around this number for a while (over 500 since 7/4), and the mag has only recently been high (since 7/18).

I'm still new to learning how these three elements work together other than knowing that to lower calcium you should raise alk, etc. I know it's only been a couple of days, so should I just test a few times a week for a couple of weeks to see if this changes? I know these numbers aren't detrimental to my corals, and everything looks happy other than my monti's polyps not extending.

Any help would be appreciated

P-Dub

The ocean is open to all, merciful to none.
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just maintain your Alk as it gets depleted and do not add Ca or Mg. Let those get consumed by your organisms until all elements come in balance. At that point dose at a rate to match consumption. That is what I would do but others might be better equipped to help such as this great read by our very own @Randy Holmes-Farley...

AS

BeejReef

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
+1 to P-Dub and to what WWC advised.

see https://www.advancedaquarist.com/2002/11/chemistry

You're a "zone 4."