Can't determine if My clown has brook or some other illness.

strawberryfish

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Howdy all,
I've got a pair of black saddle back clowns, and one of them is behaving strangely. Showing signs of lethargy sleeping during the day, but rouses and swims about like normal when I walk up to the tank. Showing no signs of rubbing or mucus as far as I can tell so I am hesitant to call it Ich or Brook but alas I'm not an expert at these things. His appetite and behavior otherwise seems fairly normal for clowns, not really gasping or struggling to swim. But keeps returning to the same spot to lay down, could he be nesting or hosting to the spot. The other clown in the tank is acting normally and not displaying this behavior except for at night when they typically sleep together. I am preparing an emergency freshwater dip incase of brook and can have a 10 gal hospital/quarantine set up in less than 30 mins. But figured I should inquire for more experienced advice. Can take pics if necessary to I.D. some illness but from visual inspection they look completely healthy, to my eyes anyways.
P.S. they have been in the system for about a month or two and have only just displayed this, the only other fish in the system is a wheeler's goby introduced only a few days after the clowns. No recent fish additions have been made since.
I'm happy to provide any further necessary information, Thanks for any input or advice in advance, it is greatly appreciated.

Nutramar Foods

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If it isn’t breathing faster than the other clown and it is still eating well, I’d chalk this up to clownfish doing strange things. I have a Darwin clown that spends all day laying in a bed of zooanthids….
Jay

BRS

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
Review score
+12 /0 /-0
View Badges