Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am having a nightmare with brown hair algae. It destroyed my tank. I did a total breakdown of EVERYTHING. Soaked in bleach and vinegar. Soaked it all in ro water. It took me weeks to soak and scrub a 125g tank in the middle of a north Dakota winter. eassembled and its back! My tank has been back up for 4 months with just rock. I scrub almost daily with a wire brush. It's lighter in color than before, but it's not going anywhere. My parameters are all dead on. I have been so destroyed over this. It was a thriving gorgeous reek tank. Now it's been barren for so long. I don't dare stock it. I need help from the pros

AS

Tcat1k

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do you have an adequate size clean up crew? I'm new to reefing but had a big hair algae bloom. I added a clean up crew, particularly snails, and they decimated it. My tank was started with dry rock and bacteria.

www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com
OP
OP
Heather w

Heather w

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Pics of the monster

Attachments

• 20230404_074500.jpg
    20230404_074500.jpg
    132.4 KB · Views: 70
  • 20230404_074449.jpg
    20230404_074449.jpg
    151.5 KB · Views: 68

Erasmus Crowley

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If the tank has no livestock, then I would definitely try blacking out the glass and turning off the lights and just running in the dark for a week or two.

Eventually, every photosynthetic thing will die off in total darkness. Then you can start again with a truly clean slate.