Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
When I accidentally contaminate my nannochloropsis reactor with newly hatched brine shrimp, they grow to full adulthood.

But when I try to breed them, they seem to do very poorly. I use 15 gal tank with BS hatched from 1 tsp of eggs. I add live nannochloropsis to make it a lite green. I also add an airstone at about the same volume as I do in my phyto reactor. I lose most of the BS within 5 days. What am I doing wrong?

Too many BS per 15 gal?
Too little of green water?
Not enough light?

Top Shelf Aquatics

Coralsdaily

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am no expert, but I have witnessed an expert in action- he raises his artemia in 2G plastic bins (think drinking water jugs) and perform 100% water change DAILY. Or else he experiences mass deaths. Not saying that’s necessarily the best method, but worth a shot.
Also, personally I have had a lot kore success with culturing (phyto, artemis) by using distilled water for absolute minimal chance of bacteria introduction. And between water changes I wipe down the container with vinegar to kill any lingering bacteria

OP
OP
jjencek

jjencek

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am no expert, but I have witnessed an expert in action- he raises his artemia in 2G plastic bins (think drinking water jugs) and perform 100% water change DAILY. Or else he experiences mass deaths. Not saying that’s necessarily the best method, but worth a shot.
Also, personally I have had a lot kore success with culturing (phyto, artemis) by using distilled water for absolute minimal chance of bacteria introduction. And between water changes I wipe down the container with vinegar to kill any lingering bacteria