Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I brought in some frags from a friend with a very blue tank. I run blue as well but my kessil and t5 mix has higher PAR and a bit less blue than his tanks.
I had 4 acros bleach, they are: Princess peach, confetti acro, an unnamed JF Mille (very pretty in his tanks, purple skin with long gold polyps), and another unnamed JF acro (which I don't think will be recovering. Was pink skin with deep red polyps. Probably A. Microlades).
Ive been keeping acro dominant systems since 2007 but seldom had bleaching issues. Do I need to move them down and bring them up slowly or will they eventually recover themselves? Due to the size of the tank I really do not like messing around inside of it much and would prefer to leave them be unless experience from others tells me I must move them down. Please advise

Corals.com

Spare time

10K Club member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Usually the main thing I would think of doing is making sure they get supplementary energy (such as red sea's reef energy) to mimic what the zooxanthellae would be providing. I am not sure about moving them, but I am a strong advocate for adding something like reef energy when a coral is bleached to allow them to maintain their functions until they recover. Are the polyps still extended? If not, then lowering them might end up being a good choice.

BRS
OP
OP
Dingo

Dingo

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Are your ALK, PO4 and NO3 numbers similar to their prior host water?
I dont know. I haven’t checked phos and nitrate in a few years. I don’t think he checks either.
My alk is 8.5 and I have no idea what his is but I’m sure it’s not far off.