Bleached tips and top side of SPS

bishoptf

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been doing this for a few years, 4 to be exact and I have multiple tanks. One of my tanks I thought I had things dialed in but summer was busy and things were neglected water change wise ( I dose All for reef) nitrate and phosphate crept up. I increased my DIY nopox amount to try to bring down the nitrate (mid 40's) I was also using Phosguard to bring down phosphate levels, currently at .2 but I also adjust my lights and I think this is what did it. This is a shallow nano tank and even and I have a meter and after increasing I was in the 2-300 par range at the tops of the rocks (30g long, shallow tank) but I am not sure what irritated the SPS, almost all of them show issues with the tips and tops of branches that bleached so I lean towards to much light to fast etc. I never spiked my alk that I am aware of, I was running a little high alk wise for me @ 8.5dkh, normally like to be 7.7-8.0 range.

I am still trying to learn what my tank is telling me and would just like to know what most likely I did. I have raised my lights and lowered them, par level is lower and I guess I will just have to see how many pieces I lose now but thought I would ask and try to learn so I can not repeat it in the future.

Attached is a pic, is dark but makes it easier to see where tips and top of branches parts bleached with algae growing on it.

PXL_20241022_172300321.jpg

subodhs

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I wish I could say I know what I'm telling you, but my experience has been that high alk and high nutrients cause acros to lose their tips, which get replaced by algae. A low alk causes the base to RTN/STN up. Just from my anecdotal experience, not something I have learnt with any science behind it.

PocketGoose

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0