Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi reefers, have you had success with bio pellet reactors for keeping nitrates in check.

Is there a downside to using one ?

Why you use one / don't use one .

I'm new to the hobby and would love you're thoughts and opinions.

MarineandReef Jaron

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have use biopellets in the past and some of our office tanks use them. They definitely work and I would use them again in some situations but there are also some downsides.

The benefit of biopellets is that they manage nitrate and reduce phosphate with 1 product that is clean and easy to service. Compared to an algae filter or refugium the pellet reactor keeps the sump area much cleaner and I do miss that about my pellet reactor.

The biggest downside IMO is the price. in my 200 gallon tank I was spending $180 US dollars on biopellets each year to keep my reactor topped off. With an algae filter, I do have some electricity from the light but I also had electricity from the pellet reactor feed pump so I can essentially save $180 by using an algae filter to manage nutrients rather than the pellet reactor.

BRS

YOYOYOReefer

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
the reason i dont use one is there is no advantage to it over vodka dosing which is a million times simpler

if you dont have backup power and they go down i would assume when it restarts thats not good on your system (but ideally you have constant power )

Miami Reef

I’m the problem, it’s me
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can’t time biopellets, so you are also carbon-dosing at night when pH and O2 are lowest. It’s also more expensive.

Vinegar or vodka are great options because they are inexpensive, effective, and can be dosed with a pump or manually.