+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi.
Im still a beginner in this hobby. I have a few questions in regards to T5 lighting.
I don't really understand it. Does any T5 tube work? Does it require any special colour (if so, what colours?)? Does it have a cheaper upfront cost than LEDs?
Im still a student so money is quite and important thing and Im on a tight budget. Im planning on building/upgrading my tank into a long shallow tank, which requires multiple LED lights to light up properly. It has come to my realization that T5s can light up a long aquarium easily.
The thing that I dont know about T5s is, can I just slap on some blue and white no brand T5s onto a reflector ontop of an aquarium? From where I live, any branded T5s (ATI etc) are hard to find and also anything that has a reef/aquarium label on it is noticeably more expensive. Are there any no name cheap brands that are reliable?

Id like to ask the lighting gurus regarding this topic. Please try and explain to me in the most beginner friendly way. I am really unsure of how lighting really works for a Reef aquarium. Im planning to make a mixed sps lps tank.

Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED bar

EeyoreIsMySpiritAnimal

Just another girl who likes fish
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you plan to keep coral, you will do best with specific lighting. Here's just one of many lighting guides you can find on the web. BRS also has some great videos.

Miami Reef

I’m the problem, it’s me
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Most people have LED’s. Unless you have a specific goal (reduce shadowing, even par etc) I’d go with LED.

T5 requires bulb replacements and produces more heat than LED. This is coming from a 100% T5 user.

AS

EeyoreIsMySpiritAnimal

Just another girl who likes fish
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score