Automatic ATO after water evaporation in reef system

Reefbase1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,

I'm new with Neptune Apex system and not an expert with programming. I'm looking for line of codes to program my ATO with my Neptune Apex Pro system for the task below. What I'm looking for is:

When water evaporated from my reef tank, the Neptune Apex salinity probe reported the salinity level goes up. I like to use my equipment to bring my salinity level back to normal:

a) does anyone have expertise in programming with Neptune Apex so if salinity level goes up because of water evaporation, Neptune probe will detect it and will get the ATO or DOS to automatically add soft water to the tank slowly until salinity level is back to normal? Once salinity level is back to normal, the ATO will stop automatically adding water to the reef tank.

b) from your experience, what would you use to complete this task? A Neptune DOS or an ATO? (I do not know if the additional information may help for the ATO, I do not own it yet. I own a Neptune DOS only for now. I'm looking for a Neptune, Tunze or Red Sea ATO system that will be compatible with Neptune Apex Pro)

Thanks for your help,

Alain

Formulator

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is not a viable way to setup an ATO. Salinity readings will take too long to stabilize in the system and the amount of evaporation needed to get a significant change on your salinity meter is too much. At that point you might as well do manual top-offs because your ATO will be dumping gallons at a time anyways instead of gradually keeping up with evaporation all the time with small additions of freshwater.