At what rate can I safely lower salinity.

Cunning_plan

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In Short:
I have salinity at 45+ ppt. How can quickly can I take it down to 35? Should I be water changing with RODI water or low salinity water.

In Long:
I have been running a reef tank for around 5 months now. It's a reefer 250 (55g). Over time I have gradually tried to add corals. With a few minimal exception these have all died. As it stands living I have 2 GSP frags, a kenya tree frag, and 5-6 very closed up zoas. I also have a couple of cleaner shrimp, a convict Blenny, 2 small clowns, a lemon damsel and a firefish.

Over the past 3 months I have tried adding corals 4-5 times. In some cases they have done fairly well, I had a hammer and an elegance coral that seemed to be thriving for a while. In others though, they just died. The few SPS frags I tried to add died within 12 hours. No zoa has ever opened more than 1/3 of the way. In response to this, I tinkered far more than I should have. In terms of flow, placement, lighting and nitrate/phosphate removal. I always assumed it was my basic chemistry but on multiple test kits showed 0 Amonia/Nitrite and close to zero Nitrate/Phosphate. Salinity always showed around 33.

Given my salinity had always been a touch low, I decided that could be my cause. Over the course of 2 weekly water changes I raised it from 33-35. At that point what few corals had been prospering died.