+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OK Guys 'n Gals.
I'm pretty new to marine tanks and have had a 30 gallon tank, approx 80cm wide, that was set up as a freshwater one now converted to Marine.
It hasn't really done all that well. Coral growth isn't very good at all and I've probably lost more than is left.
The tank has 2 Kessil A160WE Tuna Blue lights on it with the Spectral Controller. Maybe I'm using it wrong but I guess I'll seek advice on it later.
My question right now is based on my recent purchase of a

D&D Aqua-Pro Reef 900. It's yet to be delivered so I'm trying to get everything right for it.

I really can't afford the usual lights that most aquarist shops tend to point people to. With that in mind I have done several hours of searching and have found the Aqua Knight CREE aquarium LED light 50W. Based on reviews of their model A029 at 30W, It sounds as if the 50W model should be as good as, if not better than the earlier model. The tank isn't tall so the light doesn't need to provide really good PAR and spectrum levels deep down. I would expect pretty good coral growth from this light. I have 2 of them coming right now.

What I would like is to find someone who already has experience of them to to give some sort of review.

Top Shelf Aquatics

cwerner

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would be pretty wary of anything on AliExpress. I highly doubt you'll get the rated PAR or wattage values. If you're looking to light things as cheaply as possible I would go with something you know works. It's more expensive to buy things that don't provide value for their money and aren't built well so they'll crap out on you in under a year anyways.

Have you looked in the classifieds? A couple of used AI primes or a Reefbreeder Photon would be just the ticket. And I'd trust a used, name-brand light more than a cheap, brand new light from Amazon or AliExpress.