Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My alkalinity is staying at 7 with Red Sea coral pro salt as my mix. What’s my next move?

To preface this a little, I’ve been reefing for 6 or 7 years but don’t have much experience with a dry rock and sand start.

The tank has been wet for about two months I think. Nitrogen cycle was done with Dr Tim’s and the rest of the good stuff is being added by AquaForest Lifesource. My alkalinity has consistently been at or around 7 on the Hanna checker in the tank. My salt is Red Sea pro which should mix to 11.5 and alk tests on freshly mixed salt show 10+ (Hanna checker can be finicky sometimes). Salinity is 1.025 and verified against the tropic Marin floating hydrometer (not a swing arm).

I found a similar question asked prior and Randy noted that dry rock can use up alk, but I’m curious on my next move to get it to stop. I plan on doing acros only in this tank, but want the tank’s alk closer to what my salt mixes to before adding anything that needs it. If the solution is just to wait it out that’s fine, but if there is a trick to getting the rock to stop binding this stuff I’d be happy to hear

Tank currently just has one Banggai Cardinal being fed heavily with frozen mysis.

Filtration is just filter floss and a skimmer that’s pretty much just bubbling right now. Pulls out some funk but over the week, there is maybe 1/4inch of gunk in the cup.

Phosphates are 0 which I’m not super concerned with as I’ve read dry rock can bind that as well.

Posted from mobile so please excuse any typos or strange formatting

Nutramar Foods
Top Shelf Aquatics
OP
OP
BrotatoSalad

BrotatoSalad

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is MG 1350-1400ppm?
low MG can result in inaccurate Alk test results.
Other than that, I can’t see using RS Pro, no Stoney load, and end up with 7 dkh.